Younger Than Yesterday

Standard

I was going to follow up my last two dramatic posts with a dramatic silence, but I’ve just got too darn much to say. I am living in Madrid now, in the Manuel Bacerra neighborhood, and my first week has been really good. The area is gorgeous. There is a lovely park right by the house and I have been there every day, if not twice a day. I find it to be really relaxing and peaceful. It’s great to snap photos in there and get lost in the labyrinth of trees. It’s especially mesmorizing at the moment as all life is just  about completely in bloom. Breathtaking really. Beside the park is this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Torrespa%C3%B1a. This has me spellbound. It’s just so unique to anything I have seen. The Plaza de Toros is also within walking distance from where I am. There are 5 of us in a spacious two-story house, with two dogs and four turtles (there is a small pool/pond on our terrace outside) and it is a relaxing environment. The arrival of this new house was a God-send.

There is an endless supply of things to do here and every day I am discovering new streets and shops. The big thing that I think I am really going to enjoy are the intercambios that they have in the city. You post an announcement on this website, http://www.lingobongo.com/madrid/, and I have received almost 10 emails from people since posting my one a few days ago. I have met with two of the people so far and they were both fantastic experiences. The two of them had both studied psychology, what are the chances?, and were just very friendly, open, and interesting to talk to. The idea is that you do a language exchange. You spend half of the time in English and the other half in Spanish. Just…very interesting. Other than that, I am just seeking out new sites in my free time as I continue to settle in!

My new setting is more of what I had in mind when I decided I would come to Spain. What I am finding more and more with life is that the more I live, the more I seem to learn. That learning has not ceased to expand my mind to an awareness of all the different experiences that exist in the world. It’s exhilirating because it really dawns on me that there is so much that lies ahead of me that I could not possibly even imagine. The good, the bad, and the ugly.  They all seem to contribute in their own way to the enrichment of the human experience. I guess what I mean to say is that the new living situation has really been a great change and that I am feeling younger than yesterday. Pictures soon.

About conorjbyrne3

I have started up this blog in anticipation of my upcoming year-long teaching position in Spain. I want to be able to record the highlights of the experience so that I can share with everyone back home!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

