And…we’re back.

Standard

I have returned to Spain with a good deal of healthy illusion. My battery is recharged so to speak and I am ready to take on the world. The three weeks in America helped me to ground my identity, my roots, and understand how to bridge these two so very different worlds of mine.

I had thought that the first week back was going to be a difficult adjustment, but it was just the opposite…so very different from September. There was no culture shock, returning to Spanish wasn’t particularly stressful or embarrassing (though it does take quite the mental effort sometimes), and it was satisfying and comforting to return to a work schedule. The break was beyond words excellent, especially to spend time with the most important people that are in my life, but one tends to become a little lethargic and lazy after a while, eh? The routine I have here keeps  me moving and doing and I like that a lot. The kids seemed happy and excited to see me return and it’s a great feeling to be around their energy. I love them! The teachers have been so, so friendly and my relationships with them are definitely crescendoing — we speak in Spanish now which has removed any discomfort they may have had in talking to me before and interactions are growing more natural. We all laugh a lot at Andel. I am very blessed. This week I will start up my private classes again and I am slightly nervous about this, only as they stretch my working hours out quite a lot. I start at 9 AM and between walking to different houses and using the public transportation I will often not return home until 9 PM! I am considering taking one week a month off from the private classes to keep me sane and charged up with energy. We’ll see. The advantage of having those classes, from a teaching perspective, is that I have total creative control and that’s a really excellent and fun feeling.

In general I feel that I returned to a home. My heart is in Rockaway with my family, but I can’t say that Arroyomolinos is strange to me. I discovered the value of community only a few years back, possibly as a result from my first trip to Spain, and it’s importance has never left me. My first few months in Spain were about observing what community meant to this country and culture and now that I have a better idea of what that is, it’s my objective to immerse myself and be a member of the community as much as possible. It’s excellent for the person (why be isolated?) and I feel that it is an obligation that we all owe one another.

I am called ‘Carlos’ here in Arroyomolinos. Conor is very difficult to pronounce interestingly enough, so some of the locals have opted to call me by that name. I like it very much, A) because it’s funny and B) because I receive that gesture as an indication of my welcome into the community. It’s almost like a second identity or a ticket into just being one of the people here without having to carry the gift and burden of being the foreigner 24/7.

We’re taking things as they come, day by day, but I feel empowered to take on 2012 in Spain. That’s all for now, you’ll hear from me in a week folks! Feliz Año Nuevo!

About conorjbyrne3

I have started up this blog in anticipation of my upcoming year-long teaching position in Spain. I want to be able to record the highlights of the experience so that I can share with everyone back home!

7 responses »

  1. amazing post as usual! i’m so happy everything is going well for you! i look forward to reading future posts 🙂

  2. Mr. Byrne AKA Carlos:

    Thanks for the update! Best of luck with your working in the ‘spring semester’…….if you come across any good Spanish wines, let me know :). It was a pleasure catching-up over winter break.

    See you soon,
    Mr. Anastasio AKA PJ

  3. Let’s take this billinguism another step. How about tri-linguilism? Yes, speaking in three languages? It’s not imossible Carlos. In America you are Conor Byrne. In Spain, Carlos Byrne. But between the jigs and the reels you can also be known as Carlos O’Broin. No need to remind you that O’Broin is our family name in the mother tongue! Wit aside, I really loved the latest post, it was so informative, insigthful and full of rich details — and genuine warmth.

    We love you bro,

    Dad
    AKA, Daniel O’Connell

      • Carlos Joseph O’Broin…this is my newly adapted name! This is the 21st century if I’ve ever seen it. Thanks for the comment Dad… hope Keith is bringing his chicken wings tonight!

Leave a Reply

