Fall is descending upon España…

Standard

Well, after an exceptionally long summer, Fall has descended upon España. I experienced temperatures in the upper 70s/lower 80s throughout my first two and a half weeks here, but now the weather can sink into the lower 50s. For me this comes as a mostly welcome change as excessive periods of hot weather can become slightly uncomfortable to me. I am excited to learn what an Autumn experience is like in España and hope that I will have opportunity to report on it. It´s one of the most exciting times of the year in the NorthEast of the United States: the foliage shouts out God´s glory in every corner of your eye, there are a thousand and one different teas and ciders to try, pumpkin picking and carving brings you into contact with the Halloweens of generations past, and the smells of cinnamon in a kitchen are all to die for. I wonder if España will present its own set of Autumn traditions. At the very least, the scenery should be gorgeous.

I feel that I have more or less successfully navigated through the preliminary phase of living in the country. I have settled comfortably into the apartment, I am gaining a greater orientation toward the local spots (bars, grocery stores, beautiful sites and parks) as well as city spots (Madrid is incredible), I have a greater sense of comfort and understanding toward the duties of my job, my paperwork is in order (I´m completely and totally registered and legal!), and being a foreigner is no longer uncomfortable but quite thrilling. Similar to my last post, it´s amazing to watch yourself start over and get your feet off the ground in a new landscape where the rules are just slightly different. American university provided me with a solid grounding in being a competent individual and it has been so much fun to tweek those lessons to be successful and happy here. My next phase is to continue to improve my language ability (I am sufficient now with sympathetic listeners) so that I can really absorb the culture. With my ´survival´assured I can now begin to develop a larger social life and expand my horizons here. I have picked up a couple of private tutoring opportunities and that will go a long way in helping me get out and about. It´s time to get outside of Madrid a little bit!

It´s my hope to blog regularly on Sundays and provide some more information about my daily life (friends, family, stories), as well as to include more photos! The first ones up at the moment give some basic idea of my situation here and I would like to expand upon that. Visuals go such a long way!

Hasta luego.

About conorjbyrne3

I have started up this blog in anticipation of my upcoming year-long teaching position in Spain. I want to be able to record the highlights of the experience so that I can share with everyone back home!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

