Well, that was easy.

Standard

No, I wouldn´t say easy, but I was surprised at how smooth the travels went. TSA security procedure was minimal. I did not have my crotch touched, I did not go through a body scanner…I WAS fingerprinted for reasons that were never explained to me, kind of strange, but otherwise I found the whole experience to be as comfortable as was possible. I felt very blessed to fly with the Irish. I would travel all day on Aer Lingus if I could. They served beef and potatoes, we had fine Irish tea, and a kindness that is unmatched in the world….in my humble opinion. Most important, I was able to have a Guinness in Dublin Airport as I chatted with an Irish couple about President Obama and his visit to Ireland! Airports can be a drag, but I got a real kick out of just sitting and watching the world´s people pass me by. 100´s of individuals and families from all over the globe travelling to different destinations…incredible.

My flatmate dropped me off to the middle of my new town yesterday alone! It definitely woke me up to the reality of being in a different country. My mission: obtain a mobile device and try to open a bank account. Safe to say that I failed both objectives. My language ability is just not there! However, I did manage to get back to the apartment without a kidnapping or robbery (these were the flood of thoughts rushing through my head). Living independently here obviously IS doable, and as I educate myself in the language through American sitcoms dubbed in Spanish, things can only get better. Reality sinks in Monday when my job begins.

For the weekend: tour the city of Madrid. 🙂 Adios for now!

About conorjbyrne3

I have started up this blog in anticipation of my upcoming year-long teaching position in Spain. I want to be able to record the highlights of the experience so that I can share with everyone back home!

One response »

  1. I’m so glad to hear that your flight was so pleasant! Have a wonderful time exploring this weekend – can’t wait to see pictures! Oh, and I love that feeling in the airport too, watching people go by – nothing beats it 🙂 Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

