Everyone should be forced to pack their life into a bag…

Standard

What better way to determine the value of one’s prized possessions? Do I take the psychedelic shirt from that awesome concert experience or do I leave that to make room for my favorite poster? What pieces of my past life are so substantial to my being that they will be transported over to Spain? What pieces can be quietly laid to rest (for now)?

The task at hand for tonight is some glorious last minute packing, and as I proceed forward I marvel at how reflective the whole process has become. By no means am I a materialist, but I am discovering that this pile of “stuff” that has collected in my room over the years carries more emotional value than I could have imagined. Certain objects serve as instant connections to periods of my life that are long gone and over, but that still weigh heavily on my current station in life. In sorting out what “stuff” is of most significance to me, I begin to gain the slightest hint of where my journey takes me next. Interesting.

I depart for a new life tomorrow friends, and I have the fortune of feeling a great deal of excitement. The emotions have been all over the place these past few weeks, but I have a strong sense of something “right” occurring here. The experiences and encounters of my life up to this point have been fantastic and sometimes not so fantastic,  but always very formative. There are running themes that continue to spring up throughout my social, professional, and spiritual life, and this adventure to Spain seems to be a culmination of so much that has passed before me (largely at The College of New Jersey).  I have a deep belief in tapping into the transcendent, in riding the waves (that one’s for you Mr. Polizzi!), and my course of action is guided and informed by only my slightest understanding and notion of what my life destiny is and appropriately respecting that fact…

September 28th, 9:50 PM, Peace Train departing New York Kennedy Airport. Next Stop: The Life of a Teacher in Alcorcón, Spain!!

Time to be born again…

About conorjbyrne3

I have started up this blog in anticipation of my upcoming year-long teaching position in Spain. I want to be able to record the highlights of the experience so that I can share with everyone back home!

2 responses »

  1. Conor! Looking forward to following your blog. I have no doubt you will have some incredible experiences and I am excited to hear about them. That being said, it is certainly sad to see you go. But I rejoice in knowing that you will eventually be back to good old NJ

    Have an amazing time! And for the record, you already were born again in baptism =)

Leave a comment